View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2014, 10:01pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
No...just no. You're wrong. It wasn't called because this isn't a travel under NBA rules.

First off, you're trying to claim a travel...by quoting the NFHS rule book in an NBA game.. Rule 10, Section XIII is what you should be referring to if you want to discuss a traveling violation in an NBA game.

Second, Harden did not travel...at all. In this play, Harden gathered the ball with his left foot on the floor then jumped off that foot. Now the next part will be a judgement call and will determine what Harden can do next:

1.) If you judged that to be close enough to simultaneous, then Harden would be able to pivot with either foot as this would be a player coming to a stop on step 1.

2.) If you you want to say the right foot landed first after the gather, then the left, then the right foot landing would be step 1, and the left foot coming back down would be step 2. The right foot would be the pivot foot if you judge the play this way.

Either way, this is not a travel under NBA rules. Now if you want to judge this play applying NFHS rules, then go ahead, but you should probably make mention of that.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote