View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2014, 04:23pm
Freddy Freddy is offline
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Try = Tap in Your Sitch

Quote:
Originally Posted by refbater View Post
A1 jumps in the air, grabs the rebound with both hands and before coming back down to the floor is fouled by B1 for a slap on the arm. Basket is good. award the basket and go to the line for 1 shot. My question is this the same for one handed tip that you do not call controlled.
Yes. Note 4-41-1, and how the words "try or tap" are used together commonly in the rulebook, especially 10-6 PENALTIES 2, 5, and 6.
Probably best not to consider a "tap" from the viewpoint of "controlled". Whether one considers it so or not is irrelevant. A tap is treated the same as a try as regards Act of Shooting which determines result of a foul.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Sun Jan 05, 2014 at 04:43pm.
Reply With Quote