Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT
Rule: 4-44-5
ART. 5
Traveling is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball. The limits on foot movements are as follows:
A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot.
b. After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.
4.44.5 SITUATION C:
A1 is dribbling when he/she: (a) drops to a position with a knee on the floor and then ends the dribble; or (b) drops one knee to the floor and then stands again while continuing the dribble.
RULING: The action in both (a) and (b) is legal. However, if A1 touches a knee to the floor while holding the ball, it would be traveling as A1 has touched the floor with something other than a hand or foot.
4.44.5 SITUATION D:
A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling *violation?
RULING: It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or call a time-out from that position.
Sounds like a travel to me..
|
The Case play cited, deals with one knee touching the floor. Obviously, to move that leg to a position with the foot touching and not the knee, is an attempt to stand up.
This does not address a player on the floor, on both knees, and changing one leg to a foot contact rather than knee contact with the floor. Some see that movement/change of position as an attempt to stand, and others do not see it as such.
I don't understand that particular Case play as relevant to the second scenario.