View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2003, 12:48pm
TyroneThunder TyroneThunder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 6
It depends???

My understanding, and I've never seen it allowed even in the majors, if you make a move to first, you must throw to first. As an ump told me, how do you know the runner wasn't going to bluff and run 1/2 way and return, you just can't turn to first and not throw it.

Of course if you step off before throwing you become a defensive player and are free to do what you want.

I've had a hard time with rule 8.05

If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when_(d) The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play;

It seems to say it's OK but I've never found an umpire that allows it.
Reply With Quote