Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAREF
I had a coach tell me these happened to him..both in the same game.
#1 - A1 driving to the basket for what should be an uncontested layup - B1 follows the player and pushes A1 with two hands in the middle of the back and the basket it made. They call the intentional foul, count the basket, shoot the "and 1" free throw, clear the lane and shoot two free throws and award A the ball at mid-court.
#2 - A1 is fouled while shooting a 3-point shot and the basket is not made. They rule the foul as intentional. They clear the lane and shoot three freethrows and award A the ball at mid-court.
|
#1 - Ugh on shooting three FTs and the spot for the throw-in.
#2 - The only thing handled incorrectly was the throw-in spot - unless, of course, the try was attempted from the division line. An intentional foul on a missed three-point attempt results in three FTs ( NFHS case book 4.19.3 Situation A, Part C).
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
Last edited by JetMetFan; Fri Dec 20, 2013 at 11:35am.
|