If the runner is judged to be advancing, then the pitcher must throw to 1B if his move is there, or he may continue to 2B (without hesitation at 1B) and throw or feint to unoccupied 2B since he is now making a play on an advancing runner. A throw to F4 away from the base and away from the runner is legal.
Frequently, the pitcher makes the move toward 1B and upon seeing the runner has broken to 2B, F1 continues his motion without interruption toward 2B---stepping there but not delivering the throw or even making any arm motion to throw. That, too, is legal, and F1 may follow that legal step and chase the runner if, indeed, the step was judged to have been toward 2B and not 1B.
Freix
|