View Single Post
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 06, 2013, 11:44pm
ajmc ajmc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
So again I ask:

4th & 2 at the 40, RB dives over pile, helmet is dislodged short of line to gain, but RB is not down by contact, then he runs 4 more yards before a whistle blows.

How would you determine where to spot the ball?
Well you could do, what you always do when you JUDGE Forward Progress has been stopped, make a judgment on where you decide where the helmet came off, and mark the ball at the spot you judge it to be. Depending on where you've decided where that spot is, it's going to be 1st down for somebody.
Reply With Quote