Here's the NCAAW case play (emphasis added):
A.R. 201. Team A has the ball for a throw-in under their own basket with 15
seconds on the shot clock. THe ball is passed inbounds into Team
A’s back court when the ball is touched (1) by the defender of the
thrower in and continues into Team A’s back court where it was
touched again by Team A when there was 12 seconds on the shot
clock or (2) by someone in the back court and the shot clock is
started on the initial touch.
RULING: (1) The shot clock started on the initial touch by the
defender of the thrower-in, but the back court count did not start
until the player touched the ball in the back court when there was 12
seconds on the shot clock. There will be a 10-second violation with 2
seconds remaining on the shot clock when the ball fails to gain front
court status and Team A has had continuous control.
|