Has anyone ever seen the OP actually happen?
1. I know the foul was before the buzzer.
2. I know the release was after the buzzer, so the basket doesn't count but we still shoot.
As written, this is the way it is. But there is a fundamental flaw here. If I know the above things are true, then I also know that the clock should have stopped with some small amount of time still showing. If this is not the case, the airborne shooter should be allowed to finish his try regardless of when the buzzer sounded if he is fouled. Perhaps an editorial revision/minor rule change is in order.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.
Lonesome Dove
|