View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 09, 2003, 12:55pm
David B David B is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Doesn't sound too good

Bob stated the correct rules by FED books.

Once baserunners have completed their responsibilities then the appeal should have been delt with.

FED also adds that at the end of the game, the appeal must be made before the umpires leave the field.

So from their reply it sounds like that's what the coaches did.

However, with so much comotion, it also sound like it would have been very hard for the coaches to also see if the runner missed the bag or not.

Bottom line is that if the umpire did not see him miss the base then he cannot make a call other than ballgame is over.

However, for the umpires to just state "ballgame is over" would be a lot premature since runners do have to touch the bases to end the game.

Thanks
David
Reply With Quote