View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 16, 2013, 12:14pm
jTheUmp jTheUmp is offline
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFL Rulebook
Article 3:
During a punt, a field goal attempt, or a Try Kick, a Team B player, who is within one yard of the line of scrimmage at the snap, must have his entire body outside the snapper’s shoulder pads

Note: This restriction does not apply if a team does not present an apparent punt, field goal, or Try Kick formation, or if, after the offensive team has assumed a set position, there is a shift, or a player goes in motion.

Penalty: For illegal formation by the defense: Loss of five yards
from the previous spot.
So, there you go... if they line up in an 'unbalanced formation' as you suggest, the restriction is not in effect.
Reply With Quote