View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 08, 2013, 10:21pm
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
I'm not sure where you guys are getting this stuff for NCAA rules. If you are correct about it, please provide rules references. Otherwise...

There is no defined "expanded" neutral zone for NCAA rules. On scrimmage kicks, the idea of an expanded neutral zone exists for the blocking of a kick by Team B -- if its done within 3 yards of the neutral zone, its considered to have been done in or behind the NZ. This is important because Team A can recover the kick that has not crossed the NZ and the ball continues in play. Other than this, touching by Team A of a kick beyond the NZ is a violation that, under most but not all circumstances, allows Team B to take the ball at the spot of the touching.

Touching by Team A behind the NZ means nothing. Its where the ball goes after that.

This is all in Rule 6-3.



I don't think there is one statement in this paragraph that's actually correct. Just FYI: ANY intentional touching by an ineligible receiver of a forward pass, whether the touching occurs behind or beyond the NZ, is illegal, unless he's out of bounds.
I was just sloppy, and therefore, wrong. It's the neutral zone or behind for A touching a kick -- you're absolutely correct. The ENZ applies to B blocking a scrimmage kick only. And obviously when considering ineligibles downfield on a pass play.
Reply With Quote