View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 02, 2013, 12:11pm
Manny A Manny A is offline
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
So, it's okay if an umpire initially rules a runner Out, and then changes it to Safe when he realizes his mistake. But a manager can't correct an incorrect arm raise while approaching the mound? Is it in the MLBUM that an arm raise constitutes an announced substitution?

Can't say anything like that would happen to me. I've never recognized a substitution until the manager or head coach verbally reports it to me.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote