View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 20, 2013, 10:21am
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Was wondering if the concept known as "last time by" in baseball circles also exists in softball, specifically in ASA. I'll explain by giving an example.

R1 on first, one out. Fly ball to right-center field, and R1, thinking there are two outs, takes off for second. She rounds second when she hears her third base coach yell at her to go back. R1 turns and heads back to first without retouching second.

F8 makes the catch, and comes up throwing to first. The throw eludes F3 as R1 slides back into the bag, and also gets by F2 backing up on the play. As the ball rattles around the backstop, R1 is able to pop up, and make it safely all the way to third base, touching the bag at second on the way.

Under most baseball rule sets that I'm aware of, an appeal of R1 for missing second on the way back to first would not be ruled an out, because the runner did touch second the last time he ran by it. R1 is essentially given credit for correcting his blunder by subsequently touching the missed base during the course of play.

How would this be ruled in ASA?
So, the R missed 2nd while returning; then retouched it after running to 1st and back. Safe so far.
Then, separate move, advances to 3rd.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote