View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 19, 2013, 11:15am
DavidOhsie DavidOhsie is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
if it's not the last inning, then "play" (or "the game") is still going on. R1 and R2 will advance on a walk. If for some reason, they don't, then, yes, get an out on appeal and cancel the run.

If it's the last inning, then R1 and R2 "don't mean anything", so under OBR (and NCAA, but not under FED), there's no need for them to advance (on a walk) to have the winning run score.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
The rule you referenced is an exception to the norm due to the inning ending before it normally would (which can only happen in the home at bat of a final inning)... So yes, the exception can only apply in the home half of a final inning.

Can you imagine it ever actually happening that a 2-out bases loaded walk in any other situation would result in the runner from 1st or 2nd leaving the field? No - they go to their bases and we keep playing. Why would they leave?
Makes perfect sense. Last question: why is a 7.05(a) homerun ("that goes out of the playing field") different? (If there is a reason).
Reply With Quote