View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 17, 2013, 11:21am
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Originally Posted by DeputyUICHousto View Post
Batter/runner never achieved first base!!!
[rant] In my opinion, that is the type of answer that adds to confusion. I know of no ruleset that speaks of achieving a base, and, frankly, don't know exactly what that could mean. Have you achieved a base when it is passed, touched, or even awarded without reaching it?

The best answers are those that use the rule book verbiage, and make no effort to add a personal flavor. Either the batter-runner touched first base safely, or was put out prior to first touching the base; that is all that matters in determining if the run scored. Anything else only muddies the water for those looking for reasons to reinterpret a rule. [/rant]
Reply With Quote