View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 13, 2013, 12:05pm
BretMan BretMan is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
8.1-E(7). It is umpire interference ONLY if it contacts the umpire before passing a fielder other than the pitcher. Other fielders are not a factor; only if it has passed one fielder.
I almost posted this exact same thing, but for some reason in the back of my mind I seemed to recall a FED difference. So, I looked it up. Sure enough, FED says that it can be umpire interference if the ball has passed a fielder, then it hits the umpire, but another fielder still has a play.
Reply With Quote