View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 06:51pm
chapmaja chapmaja is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
From another board.

I read this discussion on another board, and the associated umpire bashing.

Batter hits a ground ball. The throw to 1b is in time and F3 has her foot on the bag. She catches the ball, and then tried to tag the B-R. As she applies the tag, the contact causes the ball to come loose. The umpire calls the runner safe.

My opinion is this depends on a factor not listed in the description.

If F3 catches the ball and then makes a seperate and deliberate attempt to tag the player, after having secured possession of the ball with a foot on the base, I have an out at first. If the ball is caught, but in the process of catching the throw the player immediately reaches to tag the runner while still catching the ball I have a dropped thrown and a safe runner.

I am basing this on the definition of a catch, rule 2-9 A2 and 2-9-5b.

What do others think about this play. It's tough to comment about the play in question because the element of time is not present. Was the tag and drop immediate, or did F3 catch the ball, take a step towards the B-R coming down the line, then tag her and drop the ball.
Reply With Quote