View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 14, 2013, 12:29am
Toren Toren is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Actually, this would be a violation because of 9-9-2, causing "the ball to go from backcourt to the frontcourt and return to the backcourt without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt."

Had an offensive player tipped it in the FC on its way back, it would have been a violation under the old rules, and thus by intent of the committee; it would not, however, be a violation under a literal reading of 9-9-1.
I have a tipped ball in the front court by the defender. The pass is being thrown to the player in the corner and gets deflected by the defender.

So I have team control maintained throughout, no player control in the front court by the offense. And I have the defender causing the ball to go into the back court.

So I have a legal play, score the basket.
Reply With Quote