
Mon May 13, 2013, 09:54am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A
The DDB signal has the entire left arm parallel to the ground. I can't even begin to imagine how that is supposed to confuse players and coaches with the standard out mechanic.
The DDB signal is still used in softball. I had a situation earlier this season where, as PU, I saw R2 get obstructed by F5 on a two-out fly ball down the leftfield line. I put out my left hand (while holding my mask) to make the DDB Obstruction call. R2 saw it, and thought I was signalling foul, so she held up and started to go back to second base. The ball was fair, her base coach yelled for her to go home, and she got confused. She ended up going back to third base safely. I didn't award her home, which she might've attained if she would have continued.
|
Speaking softball ... you absolutely should have awarded her home. You just said why even - you thought she would have attained it had there been no obstruction. There is no requirement in ANY ruleset of either side ball that the runner must attempt to achieve the award base.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”
West Houston Mike
|