View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 05, 2013, 05:04pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Wasn't talking about NCAA. NFHS has no such rule. (does it?) It does state that once a timeout is granted, correctly or not, it cannot be revoked. What it doesn't say is when the ball becomes dead.
Over-thinking is what leads officials to go the arrow when they shouldn't, or to shoot four free throws on a technical foul because they're in the bonus, or all sorts of other silly things.

The rule on when the ball becomes dead is easy. If the whistle blows when a try is in flight, there's no rule that makes the ball dead before it goes through the basket.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote