Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by mpeterson_1
Nevadaref,
If I understand what you're saying, you disagree with Rut? You're saying the officials should have called the game over? What are we saying here? Is the period over if the officials have knowledge, or are we going with the horn?
|
No, that's not what he's saying. He saying that the FTs should have been shot WITH PLAYERS ON THE LANE, not with a clear lane.
|
Thank you, Tony. Yes, this is exactly why they were wrong in this game. A foul or violation could have occurred during the free throws if they had correctly allowed the players to be along the lane. Also, in this gym because of the style of clock used, a player could have rebounded the missed second free throw and possibly scored on a catch and shoot, if that player could release the shot before the horn. In most other gyms only a tap could score.
In short, it is important to review those rules on when a quarter ends. They can be a bit tricky and you don't want it to screw up a big game that you do.