Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
DG:
You may have got to the root of this discussion.
The rule book contends that there is only ONE legal way to disengage the pitcher's plate, that is by 'stepping back'.
So when a pitcher fakes to third and "comes off" the pitcher's plate has he disengaged or should he be consider still on the plate?
Enquiring minds want to know.
|
Take it to the extreme: F1 fakes to third, R3 breaks, & F1 takes two steps, throws toward F5 and the ball goes into DBT. Does anyone think he has NOT disengaged? Does anyone think this should be only a one-base award?
But you already knew that.....