Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
The player that did this was Don Hoak (eventually a member of the 1960 World Championship Pittsburgh Pirates.)
|
I think we are confusing two different rule changes. According to
Sports Illustrated, on April 21, 1957, Don Hoak broke up a possible double play by picking up the batted ball and handing it to the shortstop. He was declared out, of course, but the batter and other baserunner were still on base.
The next day, both the National and American League accepted a rule change (that I suppose that today's 7.09 (f) is the descendant of that ruling).
Since this account is from the May 6, 1957
Sports Illustrated, I suspect that it is fairly accurate.
I believe the rule change that led to runners needing to retouch after a foul ball (the modern 5.09 (e)) happened a long time before 1957, perhaps in the 1800's.