View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 11, 2013, 12:39pm
ronny mulkey ronny mulkey is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an
official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and
(c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official
constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

4-4-5: A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is
treated the same as touching the floor inbounds.

4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats
(intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once
or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own
backboard.

Fundamental 19: A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same
as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower’s
backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble.

Food for thought: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he throws the
ball against his own backboard ... and catches the ball ... RULING: Legal ... a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used.

My question: Can he legally start a new dribble?
Another question: If the carom goes into A1's backcourt and A1 is the first to touch the ball, has A1 committed a backcourt violation?
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote