View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 03, 2013, 02:27pm
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
OK... so we're talking TWP here. OK, got it.

Play is at 2nd, R2 is out, and somehow BR has passed first and is heading for 2nd while shortstop has the ball at 2nd, and THEN R2 interferes with F6. Am I reading your sitch right?

No, there's no rule that says the interference has to occur before BR reaches first ... but the interference must be with a PLAY, not just with a throw. No play, no interference. But in the sitch you stretched it to, I suppose just for the purposes of understanding the rule ...

In this bizarroworld play, yes - BR would be declared out, but since it's not a force and not retiring BR before she reaches first, then the run would score.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote