View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 21, 2003, 01:10pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Question 5a and 5b

When you read the original question 5a, it's clear that it was B's fumble that put the ball back into B's endzone where it became dead. That's the force. A71's touch is not a new force. The result is a SAFETY. NCAA rules concur.

In question 5b, I'm assuming that it's intended that A71's muff imparted a new force on the loose ball and caused it to enter B's EZ where it became dead upon hitting the pylon. Therefore, the result is a TB. Give B the ball 1-10 at their 20. Here, NCAA rules are different...Unless the loose ball had come to rest, B's fumble is still the force (they call it "impetus") that put the ball into the EZ. In NCAA rules, this would be a SAFETY as well.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote