Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
But we should call it after the apex if the ruling is unknown at the apex and becomes known on the way down. The other day, an infield fly was hit right into the sun, not called until half way down, because the trajectory into the sun hid whether it would be infield or outfield.
|
You call it when you call it. If you can at the apex, you call it at the apex. Personally, I'm probably glancing at my partner for any possible input as s/he obviously has a better take on the location of the ball, but even then how far it travels has no bearing on the rule.