Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn
I have. At least twice that still sticks in my memory. Both cases the ball was high and so was the sun. At the moment I'm trying to decide, the fielder(s) was shading their eyes and doing the "where did it go" routine. I did not call IFF in either case - it was not caught, and defense recorded no out.
|
From the NFHS case book:
"
2.30 SITUATION B: R1 and R2 are on second and first bases, respectively, with no outs. B3 hits a high pop foul between home and first base with F3 losing sight of the ball because of the sun. The ball lands on foul ground without being touched and rolls into fair territory halfway between home and first base. F1 picks up the ball and throws to F4 covering first, who touches R2 with the ball while the latter is off base.
RULING: Fair ball. Even though the infield fly was not called, it is still in effect. B3, therefore, is out. R2 is also out. (8-2-9)."
So, even though a caseplay tells us to rule IFF even if the fielder loses it in the sun, you're not going to? Or am I misunderstanding your point?