Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Because the last part of 6-2-4(d)1 starts with "If the pitcher legally delivers the ball ..." which means that it's an exception to / clarification of the "hesitation" statement earlier.
|
But that last part that you referenced does not start as you stated. The beginning of that sentence is:
In (a),(b), and (c), if the pitcher legally delivers the ball ..." The a/b/c is still talking about the original conditions of 6-2-4(d)1, the F1 that stops or hesitates. Sorry, I still don't see how any of 6-2-4(d)1 applies without a stop or hesitation of the delivery.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
0-0 count. The batter steps out with both feet, F1 legally delivers a pitch (sans hesitation) which is 4 feet outside. Is the count now 1-1?
|
That's a good example of why keeping the ball live could be a
virtual problem. Are we playing RB jeopardy or game management jeopardy? Lets keep it real...game management jeopardy. Issuing a ball in sitch is just begging for the beanball episode. I'm issuing one strike or two strike, depending on how big a PITA I've got.
If one strike, its either on 7-3-1, or because my KZ reference was gone and I might have been distracted from the pitch location looking where B's both feet were or my penalty strike mechanics distracted me from seeing the pitch 4 feet outside...take your pick. If you want to argue that he ball/pitch was live, I think the pitch was a strike and his second foot didn't quite make it out of BB.
If B or offense is a big PITA, then two strikes one with 7.3.1 violation and I think the pitch was a strike. If the offense is a REALLY big PITA, then B is also ejected for 3-3-1o violation. I'm not escalating, I'm trying to de-escalate.
But I still don't see how 6-2-4(x) (the balk rules) applies to any of this. There is no F1 rule violations to apply or disregard.