Quote:
Originally Posted by heyblu
Can you call a timeout with no time on the clock?
|
Yes, but you can not call successive time-out when there is no time on the clock at the end of playing time in the fourth quarter or overtime.
5.11.7 SITUATION B:
Following the expiration of time for the first extra period, the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Team B requests a time-out before the free throws are administered to start the second extra period. The time-out request is granted. Thereafter, the official administers the first free throw to A1. Following the attempt: (a) Team B; or (b) Team A, then requests a time-out.
RULING: The request cannot be granted in either (a) or (b), as it would be *consid*ered a successive time-out. The fact that the ball did become live between the two requests has no bearing on the ruling. Another time-out request by either team cannot be honored until after the clock has started in the second extra *period.