View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2003, 09:50am
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by sm_bbcoach
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
-------------------------------------------------
Why is it a saftey in 5A? A did not give it new force only touched it. B gave the force, Saftey.
In 5B, A71 did give new force in to end zone. Touchback.
Please explain what I am missing on this and if I have force messed up.
Thanks!


================================================== ======
5.a) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. The ball touches A71 at the B-5 yard line and then hits the goal line pylon. Two seconds remain in the game.




TB, B 1/10 @ B20, clock on the snap



I think you missed this part of what James said. It was hidden pretty well.



Mike:
Please expalin what I missed? I am now not sure of the force deal!
[/QUOTE]

Bottom line is that my ruling was wrong because I got turned around.

But to answer your question, force is simply an action that provides movement to the ball. The original force will come from either a carry, snap, fumble, pass, or kick. If the original force would have put the ball into the endzone, we rule based upon who provided the original force that put the ball there. However, if a team provides a new force, like muffing a grounded loose ball and that NEW force is responsible for putting the ball into the endzone, we make our ruling based upon who provided the NEW force. Touching the ball is not a new force when the ball's original force carries it into the endzone.

Note that a new force cannot be added to a kick, pass, or fumble in flight. Also note that force is not a factor when determining who caused a kick to enter R's endzone because these are ALWAYS touchbacks.

Somebody correct me if I've given bad information here.

Thanks!




__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote