View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 17, 2013, 08:41pm
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by DadofTwins View Post
...

3 questions:

1) If the calling official has nothing from 2 feet away, can/should a partner overrule, especially from distance?

2) If no foul has been called (or if the contact is ruled "incidental" during the play), can the officials go to the monitor and assess something after the fact?

3) In general, if a player intentionally puts his head in harm's way, is the foul still the responsibility of the player with the moving elbow? If so, why? (I'm a soccer guy, so I'm used to holding the player who creates the dangerous situation responsible for the resulting action).

Thanks in advance.
1) Nobody overuled anybody on this play. Play was blown dead and they went to monitor review.

2) Obviously they can. They pretty much have the same guidelines for this as they would with a Correctable Error situation.

3) The player didn't put his head anywhere it didn't belong. He was standing straight up playing defense. He didn't bend over and extend his face into the elbow.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote