View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 17, 2013, 12:52pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanwestref View Post
Gotcha. In the first game, I did not give him a technical because he did not say anything worthy of one. However, his comments were devolving from simply comments to something more personal. Should I have spoken with him before the second game and let him know continued comments would not be tolerated?
Absolutely not.


Quote:
Originally Posted by seanwestref View Post
When I reminded him about staying in the box, he asked if I was serious. After the game, the timer (who was affiliated with his team) politely asked if I had issued a technical because of the coach not staying in his box. I said no, and explained why. The feeling I got from the coach and the timer was that if I had called a tech for the coaching box thing, then that would have been seen as a "BS tech" from them, and something they could go to the tournament director with. I know it's a rule, but is issuing a technical for straying outside the coaches box really something worth having to deal with the tournament director/my assigner about?
Frankly, I don't give a crap what the timer or coach thinks about a foul. The way I read your OP, here's the order of events I see:
1. Coach makes comments you deem worthy of addressing, so you warn him.
2. Coach is out of the box, making more comments that should have earned a T. Rather than give the T, you decide to warn him about the box.
3. Coach continues to make comments, so you give him the T.

I would have given him the T in step #2 above.

Normally, if a coach is out of the box making comments, I'll warn him to stay in the box. If he's already been warned for comments, though, he doesn't get another one just because he's breaking another rule I haven't addressed yet.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote