Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
Considering this play wouldn't change anyones thinking, would it? What if the elbow was before the whistle but after a traveling violation?
By rule, the request, recognized or not, does not make the ball dead. In practice, apparently to most it does. (player request a split second before landing out of bounds) I guess we all have to make up our minds whether this will be the case, but I don't see how you can have it both ways. Editorial clarification would be swell.
|
I think this is one of those areas where we just have to actually referee. Not everything about this game is black and white....and insisting that it be is not good for the game.