View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2003, 12:58pm
Hawks Coach Hawks Coach is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
I also agree that there is no ambiguity here. The rule is team control, just as in the backcourt violation rule. If you aren't resetting the shot clock, then A still has team control. If A has team control and ball is BC, you need to be counting.

And Chuck, it is not clear to me why you don't like this. I look at it as A screwed up allowing B to touch the ball. The count has started, get the ball and get it front-court. And if there is a shot clock, you really need to hurry cause it is still ticking, too.

Other officials say they don't like another rule, specifically: A has ball frontcourt, B taps, A touches but does not control in FC and ball goes BC, A retrieves, violation. They say it is unfair to A. I say A has team control, they should pass better. Not my fault they let B tap the ball.
Reply With Quote