This situation brought to mind another issue, when is a timeout actually granted? This situation was opposite of the normal request. The team making the request wants it NOW if not sooner, with the common example being the player who makes the request while airborne before landing out of bounds. Though not specifically stated by rule, normally the timeout is granted even if the whistle does not actually sound until after the player has landed. But look at the situation tonight. A1 pushing the ball up the court. A2 says timeout. Official says "What, you want timeout?" A2 nods. Official blows the whistle. Meanwhile, just as the official was asking for verification of the request, A1 launched a shot, which was in flight when the whistle sounded.
5-8-3 states that timeout occurs when an official grants and signals the request of a player or coach.
Under 6-7 the only thing that causes the ball to be dead related to a timeout which is mentioned is the whistle, not the request, nor the recognition/granting thereof. While I think most of us handle this the same way, (it took a while for me to sorta swallow this concept in a thread several years ago) I would like to see an editorial revision and perhaps a case play with regard to this issue.
As sticky as our situation was tonight, I imagine it being a lot worse had the whistle not sounded until after the release.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.
Lonesome Dove
Last edited by just another ref; Sat Feb 09, 2013 at 03:38am.
|