View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2003, 08:54am
James Neil James Neil is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Here’s the NF answers I sent to Uncle Ernie . Please let me know if I’ve made any boo-boos .

1. A 4/7 50. Team A punts. During the kick, A88 steps out of bounds voluntarily and returns inbounds and continues downfield. The punt is muffed by B29, then recovered by A88 (no interference) at B25, where the play is blown dead.

Illegal participation on A88
Accept; A 4/22 @ A-35 clock on the ready
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2. A 4/7 A16. A is in a scrimmage kick formation. The snap goes over the head of the kicker and the ball rolls to kicking team's own 2-yard line. The punter kicks the ball into and out the end zone.

The Punter is guilty of illegally kicking the ball
Accept; A 4/22 @ A-1 clock on snap
Decline; safety, A free-kicks from the A-20, clock on first legal touching
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

3. A 4/goal from the B5. A is lined up to kick a field goal. At the snap, B55 comes from the outside in an attempt to block the kick. A23 blocks B55 at the knees at the B7. The kick is blocked and rolls out of bounds at the B15.

UE didn’t give enough info here . When B55 came from the outside did he start on the LOS, and was this block within the zone? Was the ball in the zone when it was being held for the FG? If yes to all this then no foul and we have B 1/10 @ B-15 clock on the snap. If no to any of these questions then illegal block below the waist...
Accept; A 4/goal @ B-17, snap
Decline; B 1/10 @ B-15, snap

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
4. A 4/13 B48. B21 catches a punt at the B-3 yard line and his original momentum carries him into his end zone. He attempts to run it out, but is hit and fumbles the ball. B9 recovers in the end zone and runs to the 50-yard line, where he fumbles and A72 recovers on the A-47 yard line. A72 runs for a touchdown.

TD A, A free-kicks @ A 40 clock on first legal touching

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

5.a) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. The ball touches A71 at the B-5 yard line and then hits the goal line pylon. Two seconds remain in the game.

TB, B 1/10 @ B20, clock on the snap

5 b) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. A71 dives for the ball at the B-5 yard line, but muffs it into the goal line pylon Two seconds remain in the game.

Safety, B will free kick @ B-20, clock on first legal touching

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~

6. A 4/8 B32. Team A's unsuccessful field-goal attempt is caught by B13 in his end zone and returned to Team B's 18-yard line, where B13 is downed.

Ball is dead as soon as it enters B’s end zone
B 1/10 @ B-20 clock on the snap

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~
7. A 4/4 B15. Team kicks a field goal during the last timed down of the 4th quarter. Team B commits a live ball personal foul three yards or more beyond the neutral zone the score is A10-B10.


Team A may accept the penalty and have one un-timed down after enforcing B’s PF 7.5 yards (1/2 the distance) from the previous spot making it A 1/goal @ B-7.5,
Or they can keep the points and have the penalty for B’s foul administered from the succeeding spot to begin over-time play.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~
8. A 3/2 B35. QB A12 completes a pass to A88 at the B10. A88 runs into the end zone as time expires in the fourth quarter to make it A13-B14. During the try, B56 is offside and the kick is no good. As the officials are discussing the options, A71 swears at the Referee.

A try-down @ B-16.5
Reply With Quote