![]() |
|
|||
![]()
Have at them kids . And remember...HAVE FUN !
1. A 4/7 50. Team A punts. During the kick, A88 steps out of bounds voluntarily and returns inbounds and continues downfield. The punt is muffed by B29, then recovered by A88 (no interference) at B25, where the play is blown dead. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 2. A 4/7 A16. A is in a scrimmage kick formation. The snap goes over the head of the kicker and the ball rolls to kicking team's own 2-yard line. The punter kicks the ball into and out the end zone. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 3. A 4/10 from the B5. A is lined up to kick a field goal. At the snap, B55 comes from the outside in an attempt to block the kick. A23 blocks B55 at the knees at the B7. The kick is blocked and rolls out of bounds at the B15. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 4. A 4/13 B48. B21 catches a punt at the B-3 yard line and his original momentum carries him into his end zone. He attempts to run it out, but is hit and fumbles the ball. B9 recovers in the end zone and runs to the 50-yard line, where he fumbles and A72 recovers on the A-47 yard line. A72 runs for a touchdown. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 5.a) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. The ball touches A71 at the B-5 yard line and then hits the goal line pylon. Two seconds remain in the game. 5 b) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. A71 dives for the ball at the B-5 yard line, but muffs it into the goal line pylon Two seconds remain in the game. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~ 6. A 4/8 B32. Team A's unsuccessful field-goal attempt is caught by B13 in his end zone and returned to Team B's 18-yard line, where B13 is downed. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~ 7. A 4/4 B15. Team kicks a field goal during the last timed down of the 4th quarter. Team B commits a live ball personal foul three yards or more beyond the neutral zone the score is A10-B10. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~ 8. A 3/2 B35. QB A12 completes a pass to A88 at the B10. A88 runs into the end zone as time expires in the fourth quarter to make it A13-B14. During the try, B56 is offside and the kick is no good. As the officials are discussing the options, A71 swears at the Referee. |
|
|||
Quote:
Assuming he steps out before team possession has changed, this is illegal participation by A88 at the point where he returns inbounds (and during a loose-ball play). The results of the play is A's ball at the B-25. B will no doubt take the I.P. penalty and force A to replay 4th down. 4/22 @ A-35. 2. A 4/7 A16. A is in a scrimmage kick formation. The snap goes over the head of the kicker and the ball rolls to kicking team's own 2-yard line. The punter kicks the ball into and out the end zone. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Flag the illegal kick. B's Options: 1. Results of the play = safety for Team B. 2. Basic spot for this play is previous Spot. Foul is behind behind spot by offense. Spot of foul enforcement. A replays 4th down. 4/22 @ A-1 yard line. 3. A 4/10 from the B5. A is lined up to kick a field goal. At the snap, B55 comes from the outside in an attempt to block the kick. A23 blocks B55 at the knees at the B7. The kick is blocked and rolls out of bounds at the B15. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Lots of variables here but I'm assuming either the ball had left the free-blocking-zone on the snap or B55 or A23 weren't in the zone at the time of the block. Flag the BBW. Options for B 1. B can take the results of the play (B's ball 1/10 @ B-15). 2. B can have the penalty assessed. Foul during a loose ball play. Basic spot is previous spot. Foul was by offense behind basic spot. A will get to replay 4th down. A's ball, 4/27 from B-22. 4. A 4/13 B48. B21 catches a punt at the B-3 yard line and his original momentum carries him into his end zone. He attempts to run it out, but is hit and fumbles the ball. B9 recovers in the end zone and runs to the 50-yard line, where he fumbles and A72 recovers on the A-47 yard line. A72 runs for a touchdown. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Momentum only comes into affect if B is downed in the end-zone. He was not downed there--he fumbled/recovered/ran/fumbled. Result of the play is touchdown for A. 5.a) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. The ball touches A71 at the B-5 yard line and then hits the goal line pylon. Two seconds remain in the game. A judgment call by the covering official here. What was the force that put the ball into B's endzone? Simply touching the ball does not impart a new force but a muff can impart a new force. If A71's muff/touch was the force that put the ball into B's endzone, we have a touchback for team B. If B's fumble was the force that put the ball into the endzone, A scores a safety and B will free-kick. 5 b) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. A71 dives for the ball at the B-5 yard line, but muffs it into the goal line pylon Two seconds remain in the game. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~ Quite a bit less judgment by the covering official. Sounds as if A71's muff was the force that put the ball into B's endzone, and we have a touchback for team B. 6. A 4/8 B32. Team A's unsuccessful field-goal attempt is caught by B13 in his end zone and returned to Team B's 18-yard line, where B13 is downed. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~ B13 returned a dead-ball. Whistles should have been blowing once the ball crossed the plane of the goal line and the attempt was unsuccessful. Touchback for team B. 7. A 4/4 B15. Team kicks a field goal during the last timed down of the 4th quarter. Team B commits a live ball personal foul three yards or more beyond the neutral zone the score is A10-B10. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~ PSK enforcement. If A declines the penalty, the game is over. If A accepts the penalty, A can replay 4th down OR they can choose the enforce the penalty on the kick-off (I think...) The game is not over unless they decline the penalty. 8. A 3/2 B35. QB A12 completes a pass to A88 at the B10. A88 runs into the end zone as time expires in the fourth quarter to make it A13-B14. During the try, B56 is offside and the kick is no good. As the officials are discussing the options, A71 swears at the Referee. The officials goofed by not killing the play on the encroachment call. Half the distance and replay the try from B's 1.5 yard line. Then enforce the penalty for A's profanity. A will try from B's 16.5 yard line.
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
If team B commits a live-ball PF, we wouldn't know if the kick was good or not yet, right? Anyway, it's not always a PSK foul. If the kick were no good, it would be a PSK foul, right? If the kick is good, we don't have PSK but K would have the option of accepting the points and having the penalty enforced on the kickoff for an utimed down or of replaying the down after enforcement.
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
Uncle Ernie ought to be writing the NFHS exam cause his questions are clearer than those **** test questions! If team B commits a live-ball PF, we wouldn't know if the kick was good or not yet, right? Anyway, it's not always a PSK foul. If the kick were no good, it would be a PSK foul, right? If the kick is good, we don't have PSK but K would have the option of accepting the points and having the penalty enforced on the kickoff for an utimed down or of replaying the down after enforcement. [/B][/QUOTE] Heres how I looked at this play. A 4/4 B15. Team kicks a field goal during the last timed down of the 4th quarter UE says Team A kicks a field goal. If it was no good then it wouldn't be a field goal ![]() So this would make 10-10 with no time on the clock. Now because we have a foul by B during the down, A has the option of accepting the penalty and taking another shot at the EZ from the B-7.5 with one un-timed down. Or they can keep the points and have the penalty for Bs foul administered from the succeeding spot to begin over-time play. (New rule) |
|
|||
Quote:
A 4/4 B15. Team kicks a field goal during the last timed down of the 4th quarter UE says Team A kicks a field goal. If it was no good then it wouldn't be a field goal ![]() So this would make 10-10 with no time on the clock. Now because we have a foul by B during the down, A has the option of accepting the penalty and taking another shot at the EZ from the B-7.5 with one un-timed down. Or they can keep the points and have the penalty for Bs foul administered from the succeeding spot to begin over-time play. (New rule) [/B][/QUOTE] Ah yes. The succeeding spot is the OT possession not a kickoff. And yes, it's not a field goal unless it is successful. Good call. [Edited by mikesears on May 14th, 2003 at 12:29 PM]
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
Heres the NF answers I sent to Uncle Ernie . Please let me know if Ive made any boo-boos .
1. A 4/7 50. Team A punts. During the kick, A88 steps out of bounds voluntarily and returns inbounds and continues downfield. The punt is muffed by B29, then recovered by A88 (no interference) at B25, where the play is blown dead. Illegal participation on A88 Accept; A 4/22 @ A-35 clock on the ready ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 2. A 4/7 A16. A is in a scrimmage kick formation. The snap goes over the head of the kicker and the ball rolls to kicking team's own 2-yard line. The punter kicks the ball into and out the end zone. The Punter is guilty of illegally kicking the ball Accept; A 4/22 @ A-1 clock on snap Decline; safety, A free-kicks from the A-20, clock on first legal touching ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 3. A 4/goal from the B5. A is lined up to kick a field goal. At the snap, B55 comes from the outside in an attempt to block the kick. A23 blocks B55 at the knees at the B7. The kick is blocked and rolls out of bounds at the B15. UE didnt give enough info here . When B55 came from the outside did he start on the LOS, and was this block within the zone? Was the ball in the zone when it was being held for the FG? If yes to all this then no foul and we have B 1/10 @ B-15 clock on the snap. If no to any of these questions then illegal block below the waist... Accept; A 4/goal @ B-17, snap Decline; B 1/10 @ B-15, snap ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 4. A 4/13 B48. B21 catches a punt at the B-3 yard line and his original momentum carries him into his end zone. He attempts to run it out, but is hit and fumbles the ball. B9 recovers in the end zone and runs to the 50-yard line, where he fumbles and A72 recovers on the A-47 yard line. A72 runs for a touchdown. TD A, A free-kicks @ A 40 clock on first legal touching ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 5.a) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. The ball touches A71 at the B-5 yard line and then hits the goal line pylon. Two seconds remain in the game. TB, B 1/10 @ B20, clock on the snap 5 b) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. A71 dives for the ball at the B-5 yard line, but muffs it into the goal line pylon Two seconds remain in the game. Safety, B will free kick @ B-20, clock on first legal touching ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~ 6. A 4/8 B32. Team A's unsuccessful field-goal attempt is caught by B13 in his end zone and returned to Team B's 18-yard line, where B13 is downed. Ball is dead as soon as it enters Bs end zone B 1/10 @ B-20 clock on the snap ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~ 7. A 4/4 B15. Team kicks a field goal during the last timed down of the 4th quarter. Team B commits a live ball personal foul three yards or more beyond the neutral zone the score is A10-B10. Team A may accept the penalty and have one un-timed down after enforcing Bs PF 7.5 yards (1/2 the distance) from the previous spot making it A 1/goal @ B-7.5, Or they can keep the points and have the penalty for Bs foul administered from the succeeding spot to begin over-time play. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~ 8. A 3/2 B35. QB A12 completes a pass to A88 at the B10. A88 runs into the end zone as time expires in the fourth quarter to make it A13-B14. During the try, B56 is offside and the kick is no good. As the officials are discussing the options, A71 swears at the Referee. A try-down @ B-16.5 |
|
|||
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 5.a) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. The ball touches A71 at the B-5 yard line and then hits the goal line pylon. Two seconds remain in the game. TB, B 1/10 @ B20, clock on the snap 5 b) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. A71 dives for the ball at the B-5 yard line, but muffs it into the goal line pylon Two seconds remain in the game. Safety, B will free kick @ B-20, clock on first legal touching -------------------------------------------------- Why is it a saftey in 5A? A did not give it new force only touched it. B gave the force, Saftey. In 5B, A71 did give new force in to end zone. Touchback. Please explain what I am missing on this and if I have force messed up. Thanks! |
|
|||
-------------------------------------------------
Why is it a saftey in 5A? A did not give it new force only touched it. B gave the force, Saftey. In 5B, A71 did give new force in to end zone. Touchback. Please explain what I am missing on this and if I have force messed up. Thanks! ================================================== ====== 5.a) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. The ball touches A71 at the B-5 yard line and then hits the goal line pylon. Two seconds remain in the game. [/quote] TB, B 1/10 @ B20, clock on the snap I think you missed this part of what James said. It was hidden pretty well. ![]()
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
OK, are you saying then that its a TB there in 5A? If B's fumble was the force (regardless of A's touching), it's a saftey when it touches the pylon. Maybe I'm a little turned around here from all the quoting of previous posts.
B had possession and their fumble was the force that put it back in the endzone dead behind the goal line. |
|
|||
Quote:
Touchback. B's ball 1/10 @ B-20. That's how I read the initial question.
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
5.a) A 4/6 B10. With 17 seconds remaining in the game, Team B leads 24-20. A33 takes a handoff and runs to the B-2 yard line where he fumbles the ball. The ball rolls into the end zone where B43 picks it up and runs it out to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. The ball touches A71 at the B-5 yard line and then hits the goal line pylon. Two seconds remain in the game.
That's a B fumble, not an A fumble. |
|
|||
Quote:
TB, B 1/10 @ B20, clock on the snap I think you missed this part of what James said. It was hidden pretty well. ![]() [/QUOTE] Mike: Please expalin what I missed? I am now not sure of the force deal! |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|