View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2003, 07:33am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Firedoc and JRut are certainly correct that the ten-second count can only start after team control is established. However, from the original question it seems that Team A does have team control since A1 is passing to A2.
Bingo. Give that man a gold star. Start the 10-seconds as soon as the ball gains backcourt status. I don't like it, but that's the rule.

This, of course, is different in the NBA, since the touching by the defense does end A's team control. (Plus, they only get 8 seconds).
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote