View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2003, 07:26am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Oooooo, Matt got suckered by the announcerspeak. Ouch.

Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Dan, do you think that Prince moved too far on that throw-in that Stuart Scott also brilliantly proclaimed was travelling in the same highlight sequence?
Coach Brown also said in his postgame interview that he travelled with 16 seconds left (referring to the throw-in).

Interestingly, the NBA rulebook says that the inbounder may not leave the designated spot, but it doesn't define the designated spot. In FED and NCAA, we know that it's 3 feet wide and the inbounder is only required to have one foot on or over the 3 foot wide area. The NBA does not have that definition.

However, nowhere in the traveling guidelines does the NBA rulebook mention anything about the throw-in.

Having said all that, I watched the replay very closely. The ball was put in play at the 28' hash mark. The inbounder (Prince?) always had one of his feet right at the hashmark. Did he change the "pivot foot" at the hashmark? Yes. But he never left the spot.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote