View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2013, 09:57pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanwestref View Post
I don't see a reason why not. The rule says to let those in who have legally reported. The rule does not say by when the substitutes have to report.
Actually, it does say when they have to report if they want to enter before the first of a multiple FT. (3-3-1c)

Quote:
During free-throws with no disqualification, one team will send in a player, and we will beckon him in. The other team sees this sub, and immediately counters with their sub. As long as the 2nd sub gets to the table before we administer the free-throw, we let him in, and all is fine. Why would this situation be any different?
We're talking about bringing players in BEFORE the FIRST of TWO free throws.

If A7 replaces fouled out A1, only the players who have reported prior to A7 entering the game may enter before the FIRST free throw.

By rule, when B7 reports after A7 has entered, he must now wait until after the first free throw to enter.

As someone stated, the entire situation is meaningless, since nothing is going to happen during the first free throw that places Team B at any type of disadvantage.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote