View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2013, 12:22pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
I agree it's a harsh ruling Mike, but in PONY rulebook, that's actually the example play they use to describe the rule 7.3.e (play)
That is a PONY issue. I specifically replied to ASA's ruling as you requested.

Quote:
In the 2nd play,

The ASA equivalent of the PONY play described is actually 8.7.J.4, but even that allows for the runner to be called out only (not in a double play situation):
Ground ball to shortstop. R1, running from 2B, intentionally hits F6's arm as she attempts to throw to F3.
PONY 8.11.i: runner and batter/runner out.
ASA 8.7.J.4: runner out. The EXCEPTION only applies to an ordinary-effort fly ball, fair or foul.
Again, specifically you noted interfering with a fielder attempting to throw the ball which is specifically addressed in J.2 (2012 book). J.4 refers to a deflected batted ball.

I think you are talking about two different things. I only replied to the issue of INT with a fielder attempting to throw the ball.

If you are referencing the 2013 book, I'm not there yet.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote