View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 19, 2013, 11:08pm
VaTerp VaTerp is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
Originally Posted by jalons View Post
I know the NCAA-W have determined you can have incidental contact with a moving elbow. Not ALL contact with a moving elbow is a foul. This was the first point in the Major Officiating Concerns for this season. I believe this is a perfect example of this.
I agree. This was absolutely incidental and a no call at any level.

I was just replying to the poster who said this was "at worse a common foul in NFHS." If you are going to call a foul here, which you shouldn't, but if you do; it cannot be a common foul per the rule. It must be at least intentional.

AndI can easily see some of my colleagues at the HS level calling this intentional because they are taking the elbow rule and POE too literally.

I think there will need to be some further clarification to the rule moving forward.
Reply With Quote