View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 17, 2013, 09:56am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
Would anyone award points to the offense if the defense touched a ball that entered the basket from below and was half way above the rim and half below?

ART. 1

Basket interference occurs when a player:

Touches the ball or any part of the basket (including the net) while the ball is on or within either basket.

I don't think it was a violation in the OP because it had not "passed through" the rim. And I wouldn't call BI or GT for my above situation either.I don't think this is the purpose of the rule although it definitely fits the definition of BI.
I would.
Reply With Quote