Quote:
Originally Posted by #olderthanilook
Situation: JV Game. Team B is down by 1 point. Team A is in the 1 and 1 bonus and have a throw in near the division line coming out of a time out. B1 fouls A1.
A1's try on front end hits the rim hard and bounces left over every player's heads before they can react. As soon as the ball touched the floor, the T chops the clock. The ball bounces out of bounds untouched as time expires. Game over. Of course, Coach for Team B goes ballistic wanting to know why the clock started before anyone touched the ball.
The following rules reference seems to address this, but, is there anything else that would indicate the should start before touching or being touched?
Rule: 5-9-3
ART. 3
If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.
Thoughts?
|
I think you meant A1's shot?
No, there is nothing in the book that indicates the clock starts when it touches the floor. On a jumped ball, the clock starts when a jumper touches it. On a throw-in, it also starts when a player first touches it.
My thoughts: Reset the game clock to what it was and give it to Team B where it went out of bounds.