Thread: First to touch?
View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2013, 12:54pm
BigT BigT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Why is it an illegal dribble? He had not previously dribbled and it had been touched by another player.
7.1.1 SITUATION D: A1 jumps from inbounds to retrieve an errant pass near a
boundary line. A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back to the court.
A1 lands out of bounds and (a) is the first to touch the ball after returning
inbounds; (b) returns inbounds and immediately dribbles the ball; or (c) picks up
the ball after returning to the court and then begins a dribble. RULING: Legal in
Page 59 2011-12 NFHS Basketball Case Rule 7
(a) and (b). Illegal in (c) as the controlled toss of the ball to the court by A1 constitutes
the start of a dribble, dribbling a second time after picking up the ball is
an illegal dribble violation.
(4-15-5; 4-15-6d; 4-35; 9-5)
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote