View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 02, 2013, 12:07pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoInZebra View Post
The learning point here, other than the obvious mis direction on OT jump ball is that when the ball became dead one official immediately recognized what had happened an the ball should have been given back to the team in control as the goaltending is an inadvertent whistle. Or am I missing something?
Since "everyone" was going the opposite way, the play stands. Award UConn 2 points for the GT, take the ball to the opposite end and let the other team inbound the ball running the baseline.

If play had been stopped before the "try" then take the ball to the same spot at the opposite end and let UConn inbound it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
Let's say I had my way and all HC's and AC's had to pass a thorough rules test in order to coach at the college level. Does this situation fall in the correctable error category? And if so, until what time could the officials correct it, if requested by the B HC? (And for those who don't know one of the two rule sets, the applicable rules read identical for this scenario.)
It's not a CE. It's a rules error.
Reply With Quote