View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2012, 12:27pm
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
You say "by rule" but I guess it depends on your definition of "play"...if you mean ready to inbound or break huddle? I still feel play does NOT resume at second horn...TO is over at 2nd horn. I'm unable to find a rule that says a team must be ready to inbound at the sounding of the 2nd horn.
When the timeout is over, the official puts the ball in play. When's the timeout over?

The rule says nothing about the team being allowed to stay in their huddle until the second horn. It says nothing about allowing the team to come out after the second horn and the official waiting for them to do so. So where are YOU getting this?

BTW, this is not one of those things that personally bothers me. If they break on the second horn, fine -- I'm happy to give both teams a few extra seconds. But by rule, the timeout ends and play resumes on that second horn.
Reply With Quote