Thread: Throw in play
View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 16, 2012, 03:17am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
Does that mean, for NCAA-M, in that the old "B deflects A1's front court pass to A2 into A's backcourt" play, that the 10-second court shouldn't start until there's player control established again by A? That's how that rule reads, to me. Just curious.
No, the 10 second count starts the moment the ball gains BC status (hits the floor). There is already team control by A inbounds and B's deflection doesn't change that. A is not permitted to be in continuous team control of a ball in the backcourt for more than 10 seconds.

The other plays discussed where player control is mentioned in the backcourt are different because the ball was coming from a throwin, not from a pass between inbounds players.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote